ADVICE, RM43 and lawn growth

newatthis

Yearling... With promise
I applied RM43 to 1.5 acres on my property in preparation of planting grass seed. I was told to use 43% glyphosate, so that's what I thought I used. I didn't fully read the restrictions on the label until it was too late. My plan was to seed in early May which needs to get pushed back to autumn most likely mid October. Anyone see a big problem with that?

Would tilling the acreage sometime between now and before seeding be a good or bad idea? I appreciate any and all feedback.

Glyphosate is deactivated and is ineffective when it hits dirt so I don’t see a problem with seeding grass in May. Does RM43 have additional chemicals in it?

It also has Imazapyr which prevents new growth…as much as up to a year per the label.

I have no experience with RM43. I was curious after reading your post. I did what I always do before I offer comments on such things. The label I read had glyphosate at 43% and imazapyr at 0.78%. I have used both herbicides individually. To get the total claimed vegetation control after the initial application wildly marketed you would need to spill several gallons of the product in a small area! Up to a year? Friend, it's your decision but if you want to seed in early May I think you will be ok - especially if you get some rain between now and then.

IF (note the BIG letters), if the amount of imazapyr applied WAS consequential, tillage would have no affect. Me, I would leave the soil alone because the herbicide breaks down quickly when exposed to lots of water and sunshine.

Last edited:
Thank you FarmerDan. I appreciate your comments/feedback. As my handle implies, I'm new at this. I'll leave the soil alone and heavily consider seeding...especially if we get a lot of rain.